New Brunswick Hunting Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a beginner coyote hunter and I was wondering what your opinions are of hunting coyotes with semi-auto 22's. I have a Remington Model 597 .22 rifle with hollow-point bullets and I plan on using it to shoot a coyote. I have been told by a few very experienced hunters that it will do the trick if I'm a good enough shooter (which I am), and I shoot it in the vitals, but I want to know the general opinion. Any suggestions for hunting them would help too!

·
Registered
317 Posts
You would be very limited in what ranges you could kill them at with a 22lr they can be surprisingly tough to kill and dont very often stop for an ideal still shot, and with all the work and time spent to get a crack at one you may want to borrow something with a little more horsepower and range to make it count if you do get some chances at them. I am sure many have been killed with 22lr's and it is possible to do so but to make the most of your chances I would go with a 22 centerfire or even a 22mag would give you some more range and knock down power.

If you cannot get or borrow anything bigger there is some hyper velocity ammo you can get, cci stingers and remington vipers and yellow jackets for your 22lr that will give it a bit more whack, they will cycle fine out of most semi autos as long as they arent target models. the stingers are just a bit longer than the regular casings to allow more powder. & if you do get a lock on one with your 597 I wouldent be stingy with the ammo, I would pour it into him like its the 4th of July.

Good luck.

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·