New Brunswick Hunting Forum banner

Any Suggestions On Calibre

3K views 11 replies 11 participants last post by  cory 
#1 ·
Hey everyone, Im relatively new to the sport and want to go deer hunting in 2011. As I am currently a student, i was looking at a low cost entry-level rifle. I had my eye on a Savage Axis .308 and was wwondering what everyone has to say about that idea.... Anyways thanks in advance for any help.

Cheers
Jensen

#6 · (Edited by Moderator)
What Sako said.... I bought a new Remington 30-06 last fall, but that was my choice/ preference.. The .308 is a good caliber for NB and also is lighter recoiling gun.. I know guys that hate to shoot the 30-06 due to the recoil but like to shoot the .308... but again what Sako said, everyone has an opinion, nothing wrong with a .308

#5 ·
I think you have chosen a great caliber. ....... And if you are looking for deals (assuming you can find inventory) now is a better time than a couple weeks before hunting season to look.

A sporterized Enfield can be had quite easily for under $200 drilled and tapped for a scope ..... That would be a 303 though, still a great round for NB.

There are lots of on line sources for new and used firearms.

#11 ·
I agree 100%, they are cheap, tough and accurate, if you get a good one.I have one and it has became my #1 gun for big game.Its not pretty and doesn't have a scope, but it has never failed even at some good distances.When it hits, the hunt is over, and the prey generally don't move much farther then a step as well.Just my opinion but its a good starter without getting into a lot of money.

#8 ·
my sentiments exactly.The perfect deer calibre imho.I have a .270,.30-06,.300 savage and .30-30 and the .270 is my fav.Lighter recoil than the .06 and flatter shooting.There's nothing wrong with choosing .308 either but stay away from the axis.Consider a weatherby vanguard,marlin xs7,savage 11 as a few examples.All priced decent and very capable deer rifles.

#9 ·