New Brunswick Hunting Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How hard is it to spot n stalk a bear? how often do you see a bear when doing it, and how often are you presented with a shot?

·
Registered
31 Posts
I don't know many people that spot and stalk in NB, but in the spring of the year it is possible to do so. I'm no expert bear hunter but have been trying this method on both deer and bear since I started hunting. Deer is the hardest,everything has to be perfect(conditions,wind,and slow movements on the hunter's part)and a lot of luck. Bear is a little easier because they are short sighted and as long as you move slow and fairly quite you can get suprisingly close. In the early spring bear season the bears have to eat alot of grasses to get their digestive started again after the long fasting over winter,so anywhere there is a good supply of fresh green grass you will usually spot bears. The hardest part about this method of hunting is that most people don't know how tell males from females at a bait site so on the move can be even harder. But if you read up on the differances between the two it's not that hard. For an example, males have bigger broader heads than females who have skinny faces and longer ears than males(which male ears are rounder and more teddy bear looking)also males have a bit of a hump at the shoulders where females have more of a sway at the shoulders moving down the back. As for places to try this method of hunting you should try base gagetown on the petersville side, the bears are always walking the edges of the roads in that area starting as soon as the snow melts(we usually see 5-10 bears a day doing this). So I hope this was helpful to you and hope you drop a big ol boar come spring using the spot and stalk method GOOD LUCK.

·
Registered
409 Posts
I've stalked a few.
Haven't been successful at killing one this way...yet... as we were just allowed to start doing this this passed fall.