New Brunswick Hunting Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,759 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Would a 100gr G5 or the Muzzy 100 be best for moose in NB.(or would 125gr be better)
(out of a 60lb bow, using easton full metal jacket - 400 spine)

What would you consider your Max range from this combo (30-35yds)?

Thx

·
Premium Member
2,759 Posts
draw length - 29in,
arrows - 29in
draw weight - 60lbs

thanks

·
Registered
1,002 Posts
Would a 100gr G5 or the Muzzy 100 be best for moose in NB.(or would 125gr be better)
(out of a 60lb bow, using easton full metal jacket - 400 spine)

What would you consider your Max range from this combo (30-35yds)?

Thx
Mu'in:

I have never taken a moose with my bow, so I am no expert on broadheads for them by no means. But I have read a lot on the subject, and based on my experience with deer I would say this.

I think that there probably isn't that much difference in a 100 gr head over a 125 gr one. Especially with today's fast bows. The heads you mentioned should do a good job providing they are shaving sharp and fly well enough from your bow set-up to go where you aim them. I also think that it is easier to get carbon arrows to fly well with the lighter 100 gr.

I have read of plenty of moose shot with spitfire expandables. And even though that is what I use for deer, they would not be my choice for moose.

I do think that 60 Lbs although entirely adequate for deer, is border-line light for moose in my opinion. It "will" get the job done with the proper rib shot. But I certainly wouldn't want a shot past the 30 yards you mentioned.

Even with 70 lbs, I would get that moose in just as close as I possibly could. I would prefer 20 yds….or better yet have him brush the arrow as he passes!! Another thing too think about for moose with a bow. Especially hunting from the ground, (I wouldn't want a tree stand shot angle on a moose) is that a rangefinder is a necessity.