New Brunswick Hunting Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm looking through Hoytman's trail pics and saw the homemade deer feeder, which I liked. Right away I went to the hardware store and for $30 I have the stuff to make my own.

Now that I have the stuff, what do I put in it, where is a good location? What do I look for? I have to dig out my trail cam I got off Ebay last winter and actually mount it somewhere.

Keep in mind you are speaking to a new hunter, so please bare with me.

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Another questions, when people talk about "minerals" and salt lickers, what exactly are you buying? Where do you buy it? What can I expect to pay for it? How often do I check on it or replace it?

Sorry for the beginner questions, but I'm VERY new to hunting. I'm very resourceful and I usually find anything I need to know through "Google" or "Wikipedia", but somethings are just better coming from the experts in my region.

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have a location picked out. It's the edge of a clearing, and the clearing itself is maybe 200yds across and 500yds deep. I thought about driving a stake in the ground inside the clearing and mounting the feeder there. Is that a good idea?

·
Registered
46 Posts
Don't worry about the questions, we all was new to hunting at one time.