New Brunswick Hunting Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all.... I have been a visitor to this site and have finally "bit the bullet".. I have been hunting periodically for the last 20 years but have been wanting to get serious... The biggest reason I haven't been able to keep my intrest is that I can't seem to locate deer in the woods... I live in the woods so to speak, and see deer all the time along the roadway but when I go in the woods nada or nearly nada..... Where do I look for concentrated areas of deer???? I have clear cuts,old clear cuts, Irving roads, and heavy woods all within my hunting area.... Do i bait to get get them in my area? Am I looking in the wrong area??? just looking for pointers.
Thanks to all in advance...

·
Registered
271 Posts
Im no veteran or anything but i find the best way is to find a spot that you figure will have some deer hanging around, put out some salt licks and alot of apples, leave a trailcam watching the bait and check it once a week to see what is there.

·
Premium Member
2,759 Posts
Talk a walk in the woods but don't concentrate primarily on looking for deer, Look for Quality deer sign (tracks, droppings, old rub lines, etc)
Look for/in an area that has what a deer needs most - Food(water) and Cover(security)

I like to scout alder/cedar swamp areas boardering some higher and drier ground.

Ridges that run along thicker older growth areas i find are also prime areas.

Once you find a likley area, check around for the most used trails and setup outside the deers main area and then wait em out...

If you hit an area where you spook deer in the day, move out., look for where they are moving to and from this area (bedding) and set up away from the area(get out of their bed room
)

·
Registered
270 Posts