New Brunswick Hunting Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
328 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I have heard a lot of talk about mock scrapes.I have never tried this before, and always open to new ideas, well new to me anyway...lol.Just wondering if anyone wishes to elaborate on how to do this, and will it bring deer to the area, or just keep the ones that are there hopefully coming to the same place?On the same note I heard Rod Cumberland speak in Moncton at the antler contest and he kept referring to "An over head branch in a scrape being crucial, anyone wish to explain this, I would have asked the question that day but my son was getting fidgety and I had to go before I could ask Rod...lol.Thanks for the info

·
Registered
1,610 Posts
All active scrapes will have an overhead licking branch 3-5 ft above the scrape. It is basically just what the name implies. A hanging branch that bucks will "mouth" and rub their pre-orbital and forehead glands on to leave a scent mixture which does or other bucks will smell and taste.
You can create real scrapes by tying branches down over field or logging road edges at the right height and bucks will naturally start using them.

·
Registered
76 Posts
If you look on youtube for a buck making a scrape, you'll see that when a buck makes a scrape he invariably mouths a branch or many branches anywhere from 3 feet to 6 if he stands on is hind legs. Making a scrape and just filling it with buck urine isn't natural and the deer don't respond to them. I made a mock scrape today on a scrape from last year. Also, I found a new scrape and freshened it up today with some licking branch spray and dominant buck urine. I usually leave a stick or some leaves on the scrape so I can tell if a buck has come to freshen it up with his own smells.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Here are a few of my experiences with scrpaes and mock scrapes: