New Brunswick Hunting Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I'm new to hunting / shooting and have a quick question. I was wondering if there is an available map / resources out there that shows legal places to hunt in NB (around the Saint John area would be ideal). I know people don't like to give up their hunting spots so no offence taken if you don't want to share. I just don't know where to go!! This time of year i'd be looking to hunt rabbit i guess?

Thanks!

·
Banned
348 Posts
Buy a Provincial Atlus which shows crown/private land and woods roads (slightly outdated). Basically you can hunt any property that is not posted Red but you need to ask permission to hunt properties posted Yellow. Ideally, if its not crown land then I would ask permission if its near a house. 200 meters is legal distance from a house with a shotgun (no slugs) and 400 meters with a rifle. 100 meters with a bow.

·
Registered
31 Posts
st george district,lepreau area is pretty close to st.john lots of plantations full of rabbits and coyotes. Base Gagetown on the petersville side of the highway is a pretty good area for hunting rabbits if you hunt near the swampy areas. You can get a pass and a map of the area at the petersville gate. Good luck and welcome to the world of hunting and just remember treat the outdoors well and it will treat you well.

·
Registered
317 Posts
It may be best to go out and talk to some of the local land owners where you are planning to hunt to see if some of them will give you permission, or tell you where the closest crown land suitable for hunting is.

·
Registered
125 Posts