New Brunswick Hunting Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
329 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm interested in grouse habits.

Often I see grouse on high ground quite a ways from water. Does anyone know if they need to drink every day or does their feed provide enough water, along with dew droplets, I suppose.

What about flight and travel patterns. They seem to have no problem flying several hundred yards. I wonder about how far they disperse in fall and what kinds of terrain they prefer in different seasons.

Does anyone know any good sources of info on grouse, in general not just hunting them?

I observe a fair amount of this stuff myself but I am interested in studies and others' observations.

·
Registered
84 Posts
If you can get into a university library somewhere and search the Journal of Wildlife Management there are some interesting articles in there about grouse. Also try the Ruffed Grouse Society - they must have a website.

·
Registered
1,002 Posts
I am no expert on grouse (or "Birch Partridge" if you will)by any means. But I have spent a fair bit of time in the woods observing them, and hunting them as well. Not to mention "eating" them! ..mmm..mmm

I would assume that they need water every day. Although some of their food choices, such as Poplar or "Popal" (as I call them) "leaves" for instance contain some moisture.

They always say..find a water source such as a brook, and you will find grouse not far away. This is true. But even when they wander far from a brook, they are usually not very far from some form of it. Puddles, old road ditches etc, even rain caught in folded leaves etc.

A grouse can fly so good, that he can get back to his brook pretty quick at any rate. I have seen them picking buds, high up in the only big yellow birch tree, left uncut.. way out in the middle of a cutting. They will go to where the food sources are as per season.