New Brunswick Hunting Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm relatively new to hunting/guns, so when I saw the prices locally (near Moncton) I was impressed by what I saw. I had looked online initially, but honestly I was VERY confused and didn't know what I was looking for so I didn't give much thought to online shopping for rifles. Now that I've had my permits for a year, and been using/learning about guns for a year, I started checking again online, and I was STUNNED at the prices compared to local. The mark-up on some of the local guys are hard to believe.

Here's an example. I wanted to replace the small 4x scope on my .22, so I priced the 1" rings in Moncton, they were $15. I decided a few days later I wanted them for sure so I checked another local place near my place, and it was $20. Fine by me, it'll cost me 10 bucks in fuel to drive to Moncton anyways, so I bought them. On Lebaron the SAME Tasco mounts are $6.97!!!

Lebaron's scope prices are BETTER than Walmart (what little selection I saw).

So where do you buy your rifles and accessories? I only know a few places and now I will only go there if I really need it without waiting for shipping.

I'd rather support the local guys, but a 100% mark-up or more over a competitors price? Come-on now!!

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Cabelas seems to have very very good prices on rifles.

I really don't like the way Lebaron has their catalogue broken up in many different files either.

Those are the only 2 I use for pricing, I haven't actually ordered anything yet.

·
Registered
229 Posts
Mail order for me. Cabelas, LeBarons and Wholesale Sports have all treated me good.

I try to support local shops but the pricing is either outrageous and/or the selection is poor.

·
Registered
495 Posts
I'd rather support the local guys, but a 100% mark-up or more over a competitors price? Come-on now!!