New Brunswick Hunting Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
328 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been hunting the same grounds now for quite a few years, with not much luck.I know there is the odd deer in the area, seeing a fawn a year ago and the odd doe here and there.Although recently I haven't seen any signs of deer but the moose are quite plentiful.My hunting area is by a cedar bog surrounded by hardwood ridges, which according to some hunters and some of the forums in here, that this is ideal deer ground.My question is I guess is that is it because there is so many moose in the area that the deer have left?Some hunters have said that Moose will drive deer from an area, and is this true?Any info would be great always looking to learn, and yes I am trying to control the moose issue just gotta get drawn more ....lol.

·
Registered
495 Posts
I don't believe they will drive the deer away but if there is lots of deer, they have a parasite in their brain that eventually gets excreted with their poo, gets picked up by slugs and snails and eventually gets eaten by other animals, deer moose, caribou, elk goats, etc depending on the area. The next phase see the parasite getting to the brain of the infected animal. The end result is the infected animal usually ends up dead except for deer which is the parasites natural host.

So if you have lots of moose around it's a pretty good sign that the deer population is lower then normal.

warning graphic link

·
Registered
328 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·